At Bay

Standard

I know not what will be
When I meet with thee
Maybe a splendid union
or a catastrophe

I wish it could be different
More pure, more innocent,
Free from ignoble pursuits
But so it cannot be

The chain of desire holds
Selfish yearnings bold
Skipping stones on our own
Weighed down by gravity

The dream of perfection
Reduced to an illusion
Fickle, trivial, meager
Such is our reality

We wrote our story
by merging rivers in a sea
When you kept me at bay
We became you and me

Leave a Reply

